logo

262-696-3645

Leigha.Schatzman@ahtd.org

Fall Speakers

Thursday, September 20

General Session 1: A Maverick Agenda for Inventing the Future: How to Disrupt Like an Insurgent
Polly LaBarre, Co-author, Mavericks at Work and Co-founder Management Lab Founding Writer, Fast Company

Polly LaBerre

For more than 20 years, LaBarre has used her writing, business consulting, and speaking to help organizations unleash and organize human potential in ever more powerful ways.

Polly is a co-founder of the Management Lab, a "think-and-do" tank dedicated to rebooting management for the 21st century. Along with her partners at MLab (pronounced "M-Lab"), Polly has developed a pioneering method and platform for changing how large organizations change. They run large-scale, real-world experiments in "hacking management" to build the deep organizational capabilities crucial for thriving in a creative, disruptive world: adaptability, innovation, and inspiration.

In addition to running global "management hackathons," MLab has also built the Management Innovation eXchange (MIX), the world’s largest community of management innovators, created a clearinghouse of management hacks and innovation stories, and launched a series of events.

Polly has traveled the world to study and work with the courageous contrarians, management mavericks, and pioneering progressives who are inventing the future of organizations and business. While these are organizations of every stripe that hail from every realm of endeavor, they do share a common credo: that all change is against the rules; that the future belongs to the mavericks, the misfits, and the heretics daring enough to stand up to the status quo; that inspiring, unleashing, and amplifying human creativity, passion, and resourcefulness is the most important work of all; that the most winning organizations are animated by an utterly distinctive and deeply-felt point of view – a set of ideas with the power to fundamentally reshape the sense of what’s possible; that work is personal, values rule, freedom is a bigger game than power, and nobody wins unless everybody wins.

Early in her career, Polly was part of the founding team of Fast Company magazine. There she played a central role in the remarkable success of a magazine that recast the conventional wisdom on power, competition, work, leadership, innovation, and change. The magazine introduced the world to a new universe of organizations and leaders whose management models were as distinctive as their business models were disruptive.

Polly is the co-author of the award-winning book Mavericks at Work: Why the Most Original Minds in Business Win, which was a New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and BusinessWeek bestseller. Published in over 20 territories, Mavericks was a "Business Book of the Year" for the Financial Times, the Miami Herald, and The Economist, which called the book "a pivotal work in the tradition of In Search of Excellence and Good to Great." CNN, CNBC, and GMA all created series around the book.

Polly’s writing has appeared in a variety of publications, including Fast Company, The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Harvard Business Review online, Fortune.com, the McKinsey Quarterly, and she has served as business and innovation correspondent for CNN.


General Session 2: Modern Leadership: The Five  Habits of Success & Happiness in a WiFi World.
Erik Qualman, Best Selling Author and Motivational Speaker

Erik Qualman

#1 Best Selling Author and Motivational Speaker Erik Qualman has performed in over 50 countries and reached 25 million people this decade.

His Socialnomics work has been on 60 Minutes to the Wall Street Journal and used by the National Guard to NASA. His book Digital Leader propelled him to be voted the 2nd Most Likeable Author in the World behind Harry Potter's J.K. Rowling.

What Happens in Vegas Stays on YouTube helped Qualman be listed by Forbes and Fortune as a Top 100 Digital Influencer. His business books are used in over 200 universities and he has received an honorary doctorate for his groundbreaking work.

How to Sell on LinkedIn is becoming mandatory reading for sales teams. Qualman was formerly a sitting professor at Harvard & MIT’s edX labs.

"His depth of insight and breadth of examples have prompted us to shift our thinking on leadership." — Starbucks


General Session 3: Succession Planning: Prepare to Unlearn Everything You Thought You Knew​
Thomas Deans, Intergenerational Wealth Expert

Thomas Deans

Over the next 20 years, Canadians will have one trillion dollars passed on to them as inheritance. Award-winning speaker and Globe and Mail bestselling author Dr. Tom Deans explains how this unprecedented wealth transfer will transform lives, culture, and Canada itself. Thought provoking and contrarian, Dr. Deans inspires his audiences to cast an eye forward to their own future as both beneficiaries and benefactors and he makes a powerful case for audiences–regardless of their wealth–to live extraordinary and purposeful lives in the service of others.

Dr. Deans is the President of Détente Financial Press, specializing in offering advanced executive training for financial institutions, charities as well legal and accounting firms. Previously, he worked in banking, was a CEO of a multinational for almost a decade, was the president of a railway, and chaired a federal government committee on tax credits.

He is the author of the international bestseller, Every Family’s Business, which has sold more than 500,000 copies in 30 countries to date. His latest book, Willing Wisdom, represents a return to his doctoral research conducted in the US, Canada, and the UK.

Dr. Deans has been featured in numerous magazines and journals including Profit, Money Sense, Investment Executive and The New York Times. He is also a frequent guest on CBC, MoneyLine and BNN on succession planning, intergenerational wealth transfers and philanthropic giving.


General Session 4: On Fire: Choices to Ignite a Radically Inspired Life
John O'Leary, Best Selling Author and Speaker

John O'Leary

Expected to die. Now teaching others how to truly live.

In 1987, John O’Leary was a curious nine-year-old boy. Playing with fire and gasoline, John created a massive explosion in his home and was burned on 100% of his body. He was given 1% chance to live.

This epic story of survival was first showcased in his parents’ book, Overwhelming Odds, in 2006. Originally printing 200 copies for friends and family, his parents have sold 60,000+ copies, most in back-of-room sales at John’s speaking events.

It was this book that first invited John to embrace his miraculous recovery and share it with the world. Today, John is an inspirational speaker teaching more than 50,000 people around the world each year how to live inspired. Consistently described as "the best speaker we’ve ever had," John’s emotional storytelling, unexpected humor and authenticity make each of his presentations truly inspirational.

John’s debut book ON FIRE: The 7 Choices to Ignite a Radically Inspired Life was an instant #1 national bestseller, has sold 100,000+ copies and has been translated into 12 languages.

John’s Live Inspired Podcast is a top 20 for business on iTunes & Inc. Magazine and his online community is 200,000 strong.


Friday, September 21

General Session 1: Winds of Change: How to Survive 2030
Alex Chausovsky, Speaker and Consultant, ITR Economics

Alex Chausovsky

Alex Chausovsky is a highly experienced market researcher and analyst with more than a decade of expertise in subjects that include macroeconomics, industrial manufacturing, energy efficiency, automation and advanced technology trends. He has consulted and advised companies throughout the US, Europe, Brazil, China and Japan for the last fifteen years. Alex is currently responsible for providing reliable industry and company forecasts, presentations, webinars, and economic consulting services to small businesses, trade associations, and Fortune 500 companies across a spectrum of industries. In his prior role, Alex led a group of analysts covering the industrial manufacturing domain. He was also the lead analyst for 3D printing at a major international firm.

Alex regularly delivers keynote addresses at leading industry conferences and association events, and his research has been featured in major industry trade publications and magazines such as the Wall Street Journal. He has also appeared in interviews on NPR and the BBC. Alex takes part in more than 50 speaking engagements each year, and his presentations have helped thousands of business owners and executives capitalize on emerging trends.


General Session 2: Creating an Insanely Positive and Productive Workplace Culture
Larry Johnson, Speaker, Author, and Corporate Culture Expert

Larry Johnson

Larry Johnson, speaker, author, and corporate culture expert, is the coauthor of the highly acclaimed, top-selling book, Absolute Honesty: Building A Corporate Culture That Values Straight Talk And Rewards Integrity. Larry has written more than 60 articles, published in recognized business and association journals. Larry speaks to audiences around the world on the topics of leadership, change, employee motivation, and building organizational openness and transparency.

Larry was awarded the City of Phoenix Award of Excellence for designing and implementing that city's team based quality improvement program. This program was featured in a PBS televised documentary by Tom Peters (co-author of In Search of Excellence). Since 1986, Larry has presented to more than 2000 audiences in every state in the Union, as well as in the United Kingdom, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Indonesia and Australia. He has been invited to speak at eight International Customer Service Association Conferences and to nine annual Harley-Davidson Dealer Conferences. His clients include Westinghouse Electric, General Electric, Harley-Davidson Motor Company, Intel Corporation, Microchip, Southwest Airlines, American Express, McDonald's Corporation, Federal Express, the U.S. Bureau of Land Management, the American Health Care Association, and the Nuclear Regulatory Commission.

Additionally, Larry has eight years of real life experience as a manager in private sector health care, three years as a manager in city government, and 20 years as president of his own consulting firm. All this gives Larry the respect and credibility audiences require. His down-to-earth, humor-packed delivery style seals the deal for them. Finally, Larry is the proud dad of Generational Humorist and Expert, Meagan Johnson.


Saturday, September 22

Closing General Session: Robert Mac's 45-Minute Comedy Hour
Robert Mac

Robert Mac